Baermann / Quintett Op. 22 [P+S]

Product no.: ee 203010

In stock

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery


Baermann, Heinrich Joseph

Quintett Op. 22

Klarinette in B und Streichquartett

Score and parts

© 2003
ee 203010
ISMN M 700196-17-2



Also available:  

Piano score


Heinrich Joseph Baermann (1784-1847) was one of the best known and most important clarinetists of his time, a reputation which is reflected in the enthusiastic reports about his playing generated by his extended concert tours across Europe.

Baermann's friendly relationship with Carl Maria von Weber, and the compositions for clarinet that ensued, alone ensures that his influence on the clarinet goes far beyond his own era.

As was typical with many virtuosos of the 19th century, Baermann was also a composer for his instrument. The stylistic proximity to his model Weber is hardly surprising, a likeness that is distinctly reinforced in the Clarinet Quintet presented here.

The new edition of Baermann’s Quintet in F minor, op. 22, for Clarinet and String Quartet is based upon the printed edition by Breitkopf & Härtel, à Leipsic (PN 3264). Together with the Quintet in E-flat major, op. 23, it was first advertised in 1821.

The musical inclination of the work, with its soloistically conceived clarinet part, naturally suggested the issue of a version of the Quintet for Clarinet and Piano at the same time. It represents a charming, and also demanding, addition to the Romantic virtuoso clarinet repertoire.


We also recommend

* Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: Clarinet, String Quartet