Eler / Quartett Op.10 Nr. 1

Product no.: ee 200101

In stock

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery


Eler, André Frédéric
(1764 - 1821)

Quartett Op.10 Nr. 1

2 Klarinetten, Horn, Fagott

Score and parts

© 2000
ee 200101
ISMN M-700196-00-4



Alsatian-born André Frédéric Eler (1764-1821) went quite early to Paris and the Institut National de Musique – the forerunner of the Conservatoire – where he soon, by virtue of his abundant talents, made his presence felt. A natural consequence was his appointment as Professor for solfege and, subsequently, for counterpoint and fugue.

Here he composed, among other things, numerous and contrapuntally-remarkable works for winds, which were originally never intended for use beyond that of students of the Conservatoire.

This activity eventually resulted in a seven-volume collection of such works, the style in his last years influenced by study of the compositions of 16th century masters. These are now housed in the Bibliothéque du Conservatoire under the rubric Collection Eler.

The three Quartets, Op.10, were published by Pleyel in Paris (plate no. 698). As the address of the publisher is given as Rue Neuve-des-Petit-Champs, no 1286, it is possible to narrow the publication date to the years of Pleyel's residence at that address, 1803-1806.


We also recommend

* Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse this category: Two Clarinets, Horn, Bassoon